Uncategorized

Local DJ “Illmavrik”

No matter who you speak to in Brisbane’s Fortitude Valley Entertainment district, there is one DJ that is making a name for himself, just turning 18 he proves that age is just a number.

Tell us a bit about yourself, how long have you been a DJ?

Hey! My name is Shannon Mavrik and I like to party. I’m 18 and I like
stuff and things, one being electronic music! I have been Dj’ing since
2010, so not too long.

How were you introduced to the world of Dj’ing and when did
you get behind your first set of decks?

I was introduced to Dj’ing just by my love of electronic music. I didn’t
think too much of Dj’ing in clubs at first but my opinion slowly changed.
I just wanted to be 18 so I could see my favourite artists play! Then
this year the day finally came. I saw them and I knew for a fact that
I wanted to play in clubs.

Last year I bought a pair of cheap decks,
numark cd players and a behringer mixer, nothing special, but I
practiced on them everyday, my parents now can’t hear. I just played a
house party every now and then but most mixing was done at home

What experience do you have in the Brisbane Music Scene and
whats coming up next for you?

I have not had too much experience as I only got my first gig a couple
of weeks after I turned 18 in June this year but they have kept coming
which is awesome. I have worked with Trashbags, Dim Mak, 99
Problems and a couple of others.

I have been lucky to support some of
my favourite artists already like Your Ol’ Lady, Trumpdisco, Barretso,
Redial, Hack The System and my favorite locals. Next up will be the
next Trashbags and Dim Mak parties at the Bowler Bar. The Bowler Bar
is now the place for big events! Both Dim Mak and Trashbags go off!

If someone asked to describe your Style in three words what
would it be?

Make ears bleed

Any favorite Tracks at the moment?

Of course! My top 5 bangers at the moment would be (no particular
order)
Rammstein – Sonne (Trumpdisco Remix)
SebastiAn – Walkman (Re-Edit) (the 2:25 drop will make you hit family
members)
Your Ol’ Lady – Gunt
Ninety-Nine – Pier 12
Bring Me The Horizon – Death Breath (Toxic Avenger Remix)

Producing, what are you working on at the moment and can
you give us a bit of insight on what your using?

Well I haven’t been producing for long, still learning to very basics
of it, so I won’t have anything special coming out soon. But once my
studies are over I’m keen to sit down and learn a thing or two so I can
start putting out my own tracks.

Producing takes time so I don’t think
Illmavrik will have any bangers in the near future. But I Use Ableton
for when I do sit down and try to create something, or learn some
production techniques

Are there any artists that you look up to?

Yeah my favourtie artists would have to be Your Ol’ Lady, Trumpdisco,
Sebastian, La Musique D’Ordinateur and Ninety-Nine. Your Ol’ Lady
would be the biggest influence. They are young, they make heavy,
dark music and when they Dj, they go off! I’ve never seen Dj’s get so
into their music which was awesome. In Brisbane the crowd absolutely
loved them, I hope they come back soon.

Other than yourself, who would you say to look out for in the
Brisbane scene?

1) K.OH – Trashbags heavyweight
2) Noy – NOY, what else is there more to say? He likes to party
3) Art House Killers – Previous name kids on camera, play some

heavy tunes and know to get a crowd going
4) Alex Terrell – one of the best Dj’s I’ve seen, his mixing skills are
nuts
5) Finehouse – I have a weird thing for that jungle sounding dance
music. Makes me feel tropical

Finally, Favorite/Funniest Club memory that you have
experienced so far?

Last Trashbags at Your Ol’ Lady all my friends were in the booth when
I was playing and there was the]is random guy who kept slapping me
on the bum. Naturally I thought he was just drunk and having a good
time. He then persisted to slapy my bum and take my friends shirt off
numerous times from behind him.Then asked another one of my mates
to go home with him to keep drinking.

We all thought he was just having a good time, just had a little too much to drink. The next week
he was caught kissing another man. I have nothing against gays but I
just felt a little uncomfortable knowing he slapped me on the bum ALOT
and consistently touched my friend and took his shirt off from behind
and we did not mind, haha.

Leave a Reply

