Artist Interviews / Australian Artist / Uncategorized

Introducing Dr Rob

Tell us a bit about yourself, how long have you been a DJ?

Oh g’day! Well I was born and bred in Brisbane. I’m20 years old and have been djing
for 2 years. I’m fourth year studying Secondary Education at QUT so in a year’s time
I’ll be Mr. Singleton by week and Dr. Rob by weekend. They are letting anyone inside
classrooms these days obviously

How were you introduced to the world of Dj’ing and when did you
get behind your first set of decks?

Growing up I was only ever exposed to top 40 music, so my first exposure to
electronic music was not until I turned 18 and started going out. After my first night
out on the town, I was in love with house music. It was only a natural progression to
become interested in djing.

I ended up getting my first go behind decks when an old school DJ moved in next door
to my best mate. He had the Pioneer DJM-800 and 2 Technics turntables. He showed
me the ropes and it has been a great journey since.

What experience do you have in the Brisbane Music Scene and whats
coming up next for you?

I had my first gig at the GPO on a Friday night, I pulled a pretty decent crowd so they
gave me another 2 random Friday night gigs. After those gigs I was given a set at
empire on a Saturday night. Once I’d finished my set at empire George Carmichael
expressed an interest for me to become a weekly resident, so now you can catch me
most weekends at ‘Fampire’ and once a month at GPO Saturdays!

If someone asked to decribe your Style in three words what would it
be?

Boogie House Party

Any favorite Tracks at the moment?

I’d have to say that ‘cry (just a little)’ by the Bingo Players would have to be one that
I’m loving at the moment. It has such a feel good vibe to it and seems to always have
a great impact on dance floors.

Apart from that particular song that I love at this point in time, anything that is
released by Alex Kenji, HiJack, or JoeySuki I seem to love and always play.

Producing, what are you working on at the moment and can you give
us a bit of insight on what your using?

I’m only in the beginner stages of producing. I dabble with Ableton and fruity loops

and am always picking up little tricks of the trade. I certainly have aspirations to
release Dr. Rob originals and remixes, hopefully that isn’t too far away.

Are there any artists that you look up to?

There are many artists that I look up to, guys like foamo, Alex Kenji, dada life, Diplo,
JoeySuki, Nicky Romero etc. who are all cranking out awesome house and electro-
house tunes every single day.

In saying that, anyone who knows me well, knows that MSTRKRFT are my heroes. I
started listening to their music back in 2008 when they released ‘Fist of God’. Since I
saw them play at Parklife ’09 I have been completely hooked!

Other than yourself, who would you say to look out for in the
Brisbane scene?

Definitely look out for K.OH! (Kent Ohori). For those of you who don’t know him,
he’s a monastery resident who is consistently playing sweet bangin’ tunes. I definitely
recommend checking out one of his sets. Not for the faint hearted though, its heavy
shit . The other guy I’d have to say to look out for would be fellow family resident
Tim Plunkett. He’s sent me a couple of his productions and they are great, definitely
one to watch out for.

Finally, Favorite/Funniest Club memory that you have experienced
so far?

favourite club moments are easily Steve Aoki at the Family, and Bloody Beetroots
at the family. Both were ridiculously packed which created the best atmosphere for a
party. Although both are a little blurry, but these things happen

Funniest club moments would easily be Tom Sweep hijacking my set on a weekly basis
at fampire. I can honestly say I once stood and watched sweepy for an hour straight
when I was supposed to be playing. All I can say is ‘GOLD’.

Leave a Reply

