Artist Interviews / Introducing

Introducing Redspencer!

If you like ‘nice smelly chickens’, UFO’s, and kids with red hair called Spencer, then Redspencer will surely tickle your tastebuds, and your eardrums.

Redspencer are three lads that came from Glen Innes, a small country town in New South Wales. They later moved to the Gold Coast at the end of last year and came up with ideas that are now songs. Now with three songs listed on the Triple J Unearthed website, the boys are receiving fantastic reviews for their catchy tunes.

I recently had the privilege of interviewing Dave from the band and asked him a few questions about the band’s history, their eclectic sound and their ambition to travel to bottle-O’s all over the country.

Be sure to check out their music HERE! or HERE!

DC: How did you guys start out?

Redspencer: Well.. We’re still starting out! We all go way back.. We were born in Glen Innes, a country town that is very cold and I don’t recommend it to anyone unless you’re on the run and need a place to hide.. So then we moved to the gold coast a few years ago and at the end of last year started jamming on a few ideas which are now songs, but I wasn’t sure if it would work live.. because I drum and sing, So we’ve done a few gigs with just the 3 of us and it seems to work alright.

DC: What are your musical influences?

Redspencer: I guess it’s a combination of all the musical phases I’ve been through, which I won’t go into for fear of embarrassment! A few months ago I saw Deerhunter and Beachhouse at Laneway, and since then have listened to them so much that I think it’s started seeping into my own music. . Apart from that, a lot of things really, Radiohead are a big one. I think UFO’s are seeping into my music as well… Whatever you do, Don’t type in ‘UFO’ into Youtube.. It’ll lead you down a deep and convincing rabbit hole, you’ll end up believing the aliens are coming back to save us!

DC: How would you describe your sound?

Redspencer: I’m so bad at this.. Like a Nice smelly chicken, that was put into the oven alive and taken out a bit too early, could very well make you sick, but something inside tells you it’s a good chicken, and you should at least give it a lick!

DC: Do you have plans to tour around Brisbane doing various shows to get Redspencer out there?

Redspencer: Yes, well, there’s no plan yet. But I’ve thought about planning plans. We’ve decided not to do any more gigs until we have some good-recorded music to back it up. Doing gigs without an EP or something can feel a bit like running on a treadmill, how? I’m not quite sure, but I think a good recording can do a lot of good talking – to people who would never come to watch you on a treadmill.

DC: How did you come up with the name Redspencer?

Redspencer: I have an older brother who was named after my mothers maiden name, which is ‘Spencer’.. My brother Spencer has red hair, … and his name is spencer.. and he has red hair.. and…

DC: Where to from here?

Redspencer: The Bottle-o! … I think you can only go as far as your music is good. Does that make sense? That’s why I’m taking the time to write music that I actually like, and would want to listen to myself. Hopefully our music can take us to Bottle- o’s all over the country

Post by Tess ❤

Leave a Reply

