Artist Interviews / Introducing

Inc Pres – Helena Interview


Helena swings by The Met this Saturday with Tooshoes, Donz, Ill Kid, Dirtie Clouds Dj’s and Dodzy supporting. She is wild, unique and definitely knows how to rock a crowd! We got a chance to ask her a few questions before she comes up to Brissy. Make sure you check out our new mix and hit us up on facebook for free entry!

You recently got a massive applause for your set at Future Music Festival. Do you change your sets up in between club and festival sets? and What can we expect at INC? My sets change up every set I do. I don’t plan my sets, I play off the crowd. I have some favorites that I will drop in but most tracks are different each set.
I search long and hard for constant good new music. If I don’t download new tracks for 2 weeks I start to go crazy. It feeds my passion and drive it’s very important to me. I love making a lot of edits and bootlegs also to keep my sets unique. I’m not going to tell you what you can expect to see from me at INC You’ll just have to come and see for yourself! 😉

You did the Triple J “Mix Up”, how has the aftermath been from that? Awesome! The Triple J mixes have been great for me, as its one of the most renowned sets on Australian radio. I have definitely gained positive things from it and it has helped get my name out to parts of Australia I am yet to tour. It was an honor to be asked.

Any new Originals, Remixes or Bootlegs in the works?

Always

How did you get into it all and how would you best describe yourself I was a school bunking music junkie who organized clubs before I was legally allowed to even be in them. I found my love in mixing and managed to make a career out of it. The rest is history

How would i describe myself?
#winning

Tell us your craziest story on tour or behind the decks? There have been so many, couples having sex on the dance floor, drinking games with Chinese mafia, my plane nearly fell out the sky once and a guy spewed on my CDJ one time.

Do all of Female Dj’s get along or is there a deep down rivalry?
Yes.

Any advice for your female fans who want to get into Music? Stay away from tits and ass press shots, it’s the classic mistake most girls make starting out. If you want to be taken seriously, focus on your brand and your music and you will get a lot more longevity in the industry. And practice makes perfect of course 🙂

A Final word for your Brisbane Fans before we see you at INC…

Pumping.


Leave a Reply

