Artist Interviews / Australian Artist

Introducing Aukistra!

Another installment of our Local Hero Interviews. This time it is with Aukistra explaining about the beginnings and the goals of the future. Have a read 🙂

Aukistra – Live @ Pistol Whipped – 2009 – 02 by Aukistra

Tell us a bit about yourself, how long have you been a DJ?
I’ve been in the bedrrom mixing since 15, I fell in love with old jazz/hip hop vinyls and big beat music. I played plenty of fashion shows and parties, then as soon as I turned 18 I ventured out into the bright lights of the city, so I’ve been mixing for almost 10 years now.

How were you introduced to the world of Dj’ing and when did you get behind your first set of decks?
When i was younger i remember watching Channel V and seeing Mix Master Mic scratching it up along side the Beastie Boys and thinking “yep… thats it.”. Three months later i had my first pair of belt drive turntables and was playing to young crowds at fashion shows,
What experience do you have in the Brisbane Music Scene and whats coming up next for you?
Apart from DJing around Brissy for the past five years, I’ve played in a few bands and mixed for bands like Regurgitaor, Little Birdy, Bliss & Esso & Lyrics Born  – coming up I have an EP coming out under my other alias as “Distorted Digital” in mid November, then I’m in the studios all December working on my debut album “Aukistrating the Phew”.

Whats the big goal for Aukistra? Where would you like to be this time next year?
The big goal is to build my label “Kontrolherizm” and then eventually work alongside producers like Diplo or Tom Rowlands. As for this time next year? On the road touring my new live show definately.

Producing, what are you working on at the moment and can you give us a bit of insight on what your using?
At the moment I’m masteriing the Distorted Digital EP – which is full of tube driven, synth mayhem! I’m also about to finish off a remix of Ball Park Music’s song “iFLY”, those guys are doing great things at the momnet. Then when I get spare time I’m working on my own album. With “Aukistrating the Phew” I’m using alot of synths like the moog voyager, little phatty,  Origin, Radias & dave smith polyevolver mixed through plenty of tube compressiors and distressors to give it all that tone I love – it makes everything sounds like its coming out of a massive guitar amp. I use alot of Ableton for my pre-production work, like tracking and writing up demos, then I usually transport all of that into ProTools for the final mix and master. Reason comes ino play a fair bit – but only for the sounds you can tweak out of Thor (that thing is insane). Apart from that, there’s also alot of time spent sending signals thorugh real guitar amps to warm up anything sounding a bit too digital. When thats all finished, I mix everything down, put samples and drum parts on the MPC, and midi sync all the devices and clips ready for the live show.

Any favorite Tracks at the moment?
I’m still really in love with the Soulwax remix of LCD Soundsystems “You wanted a Hit?”

Are there any artists that you look up to?
The Chemical Brothers – I can not wait to see them live again in March!

Other than yourself, who would you say to look out for in the Brisbane scene?
For Dj’s i have to say Noy and Censor This – for live electro I have to praise the talents of Phantasm – those boys are geniuses!!

Finally, Favorite/Funniest Club memory that you have experienced so far?

Hahaha, definately when I was playing a peak set and my girlfriend was dancing hard to a tune I dropped and accidently tripped over the main power cord! Everything shut down for two minutes, but then after that it was business as usual xx

One thought on “Introducing Aukistra!

Leave a Reply

